Jun 28, 2017

SL name squad for Zimbabwe ODI series

Sri Lanka yesterday, (27), named the 13-man squad for the first two ODI games in their Zimbabwe tour.

Angelo Mathews will head the team with Upul Tharanga as the Vice Captain.

Newcomers Wanidu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya and Lahiru Madushanka were also included in the squad.

Malinga also included in the Squad

Although Lasith Malinga was named in the squad, after the conclusion of the disciplinary inquiry by Sri Lanka Cricket on Tuesday, he was fined and was banned for one year (suspended for six months) and fined 50 per cent of his next ODI match fee. However, he will be allowed to play, Sri Lanka Cricket said.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka Cricket has decided to appoint Nic Pothas as the Chief trainer of the Sri Lankan team for the domestic matches against India and Zimbabwe. Pothas is currently the fielding coach of the team.

The first ODI against Zimbabwe will be played on June 30th at Galle International Cricket Stadium.

The SL squad is as follows:

Angelo Mathews (captain)
Upul Tharanga (vice captain)
Niroshan Dikwella
Danushka Gunathilaka
Kusal Mendis
Asela Gunaratne
Wanidu Hasaranga
L. Sandakan
Akila Dananjaya
Nuwan Pradeep Fernando
Lasith Malinga
Dushmantha Chameera