Feb 15, 2021

Notice issued to Namal, SLC Ex-co (Update) Featured

Notice has been issued to Minister of Sports Namal Rajapaksa and members of the Sri Lanka Cricket Executive Committee to appear before the Court of Appeal on March 15.
The order was issued by the Chairman of the Appeals Court Arjun Obeysekera and judge Mayadunne Corea.

They had been ordered to appear before court over a writ petition filed calling for a new SLC Constitution prior to the board elections.

Minister Namal Rajapaksa, SLC Chairman Shammi Silva, Vice Presidents Raveen Wickramaratne and Jayantha Dharmadasa and Secretary Mohan de Silva have been cited as respondents.

Petition filed to restructure SLC & change its voting system

Twelve persons including 03 former Sri Lankan players and 03 former Presidents of Sri Lanka Cricket filed a court case today (15) seeking an order to restructure Sri Lanka Cricket, its constitution and its voting system.

Former national players, Muttiah Muralitharan, Sidath Wettamuni and Micheal Thissera as well as former Presidents of Sri Lanka Cricket, Ana Punchihewa, Vijaya Malalasekara and Rienzie Wijetilleke are among the petitioners.

They have filed the case at the Court of Appeal today.