Oct 09, 2019

Australian tour Captain Malinga – Asantha de Mel Featured

Although the Twenty20 Sri Lankan team under the captaincy of Dasun Shanaka won the first tournament against Pakistan, Lasith Malinga has been named the Captain of the tour of Australia, according to the head of the selection committee and team Manager Asantha de Mel.

He said that around four new players are scheduled to join the team for the Australian tour.

The Twenty20 tournament against Australia comprising three matches is scheduled to take place from October 27th to November 01st.

“Now we have a permanent opening batsman, Dhanushka Gunatillake. Similarly, we have Bhanuka Rajapaksha at number three. Kusal Mendis and Kusal Perera would also be joining the team. In addition, Dikwella would also be joining the team,” de Mel added.