Jul 15, 2019

No Lankan in CWC team of tournament Featured

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has named Cricket World Cup 2019 team of the tournament.

It is significant that not a single Sri Lankan player has been included in the squad.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has been named as captain of the team.

But Lockie Ferguson and Trent Boult, who was named as 12th man, were the only other Black Caps to make the side, despite the Black Caps being in the final and losing only after on boundary count after a tiebreak Super Over was needed to find a winner.

Tournament winners England have four players included - opener Jason Roy, No 3 batsman Joe Root, player of the final Ben Stokes and fast bowler Jofra Archer.

Left arm fast bowler Mitchell Starc and newbie wicketkeeper Alex Carey got the nod for Australia. Starc took 27 wickets, easily the best haul of the tournament.

Indian opener Rohit Sharma, who led the tournament run count with 648 - at an average of 81 - predictably made the team along with team-mate Jasprit Bumrah, while Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan was also included.