Mar 27, 2017

Nelum Yaya blooms for 3rd yr running

The Nelum Yaya Blog Awards ceremony was ceremoniously held at the Water's Edge on March 25.

The ceremony, held for the third year running, recognised blogsites in the Sinhala and Tamil languages for the year 2016.

Cash awards of Rs. 15,000, Rs. 10,000 and Rs. 5,000 for the best blog sites winning the first three places in Sinhala/Tamil while the fourth and fifth places received awards.

Speaker - Karu Jayasuriya, Health Minister - Rajitha Senaratne and Commissioner of Elections - Mahinda Deshapriya were among the distinguished guests at the ceremony.

This year's Nelum Yaya Blog Awards Festival recognized true viral style and creative excellence across a variety of 21 main awards including; Best Blog Award (Three awards - first, second and third places for Sinhala/Tamil/English) and blogs that have been operating under below topics; Education, History, Topical Discussion, Short Stories, Political, Translation, Comedy, Fictions, Scientific fiction, Science and Technology, Music, Travel and Photography, Poetry and Literature reviews.    

The following are the winners of the main awards as well as several pics from the event.

Main awards

Best Blog sites:
Sinhala :       First Place                : Nidahas Sithuwili Blog site by Ravi Weerasinghe
                   Second Place (tied) : Sonduru Sitha Blog site by Wathsala Upamali
                                                      Yang Haella Blog site by Sujith Suranga Liyanage
                   Third Place               : Economettage Bojunhala Blog site

Tamil :        Suga Elizabeth Blog site by Thangaraja Elizabeth

English :     Subha Wijesiriwardhana Blog site by Subha Wijesiriwardhana

Lifetime award :  Asimi Dakimi Soyami Blog site by W.J.M. Gunaratne

Related News :
Nelum Yaya to felicitate bloggers for 3rd yr running