Nov 18, 2016

Two-third majority passage for budget 2017

Parliament this evening (18) passed the second reading of budget for next year by 107 votes, or a two-third majority.

One hundred and sixty two members voted in favour, while 55 opposed.

MPs of the UNP, SLFP MPs in the government and TNA MPs voted in support of the budget.

MPs of the joint opposition and the JVP voted against.

There were seven absentees, including former president Mahinda Rajapaksa.