Apr 08, 2020

Curfew for Colombo, 5 more districts to continue indefinitely

Curfew imposed on the districts of Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna will continue indefinitely until further notice, a media release from the Presidential Media Division says.

However, curfew in the remaining districts will be lifted at 6am tomorrow (09) & re-imposed at 4.00pm on the same day.

The media release notes that villages designated as isolated areas in the districts of Colombo, Kalutara and Kandy will remain as such and no one is permitted to enter or exit these areas until further notice.

Travel between districts (except for essential services) are strictly prohibited and strict legal action is to be taken against those who abuse the system set in motion to ensure a smooth chain of essential services.

However, individuals engaged in farming or working in small tea estates or in the Agro-export industry are permitted to continue work.

The government also urges the public to limit New Year  traditions and person to person interactions within their families.

The media release in Sinhala is as follows :