Feb 11, 2018

SLPP wins over 250 LG bodies : Final result close

The Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) has secured over 250 LG bodies, according to official results released so far.

So far, the SLPP has secured all LG bodies in Moneragala, Anuradhapura and Rathnapura districts.

The party has also secured all LG bodies in the Kurunegala district, except for the Kurunegala Municipal Council and Kuliyapitiya Urban Council.

They have also won all LG bodies save one in the districts of Hambantota, Matara, Galle, Kandy, Puttalam and Kegalle.

Meanwhile, the UNP has won 25 LG bodies including the Municipal councils in Colombo, Dehiwala-Mt. Lavinia, Kandy, Kurunegala Nuwara Eliya and Badulla.

The SLFP led by President Maithripala Sirisena has won only 4 LG bodies in the Polonnaruwa district.

Other parties have emerged victorious in 61 LG bodies.

Clear indication

Meanwhile, in a Facebook post early this morning, former president Mahinda Rajapaksa says that 'this election victory is a clear indication to the government that Sri Lankans are fed up with inaction and want to rebuild Sri Lanka.'

The Facebook post is shown below :