Jul 28, 2018

Delimitation Committee election bosses ready to resign! Featured

The Chairman of the Election Committee Mahinda Deshapriya and the Chairman of the Delimitation Commission K. Thawalingam have decided to resign from the Review Committee that had been appointed for the holding of the Provincial Council elections and the related delimitation report.

This committee was appointed at the recent parliamentary party leaders meeting on July 20th.

In addition to Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe who is the Chairman of this Committee, the Speaker, Opposition Leader R. Sampanthan, Rauf Hakeem and Nimal Siripala de Silva, as well as the Chairmen of the delamination commissions, are members of this committee.

When questioned in this regard. K. Thawalingam said that it was questionable as to how suitable it was to hold the provincial council election and conduct the delimitation as well.

It is also reported that the Elections Commissioner had written to the Speaker requesting for an opportunity to meet with him and discuss the ethical aspect of Thawalingam and himself being in this committee.

K. Thawalingam said that they would meet Speaker Karu Jayasuriya after his return to the country.