Dec 26, 2017

Polling stations run by only women this time Featured

Election commission chairman Mahinda Deshapriya plans to establish polling stations at district level that will be run by only women for the first time.

These polling stations at the local government polls will have women in the capacities from the officer in charge to the labourer.

Also, policewomen will be deployed for security at these polling stations, and for mobile services in those areas as well.

Every district will have between two to five polling stations run only by women.

Following a request by Deshapriya, police elections chief senior DIG C.D. Wickremaratne has agreed to provide him with the policewomen required.