Jun 24, 2020

CC approves President's nominees to the Monetary Board Featured

The Constitutional Council has approved the President's nominees, Dr. Rani Jayamaha and Samantha Kumarasinghe, to the Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka.

The CC met today at the Speaker’s Residence under the patronage of its Chairman and former Speaker - Karu Jayasuriya.

The positions fell vacant after two members of the Monetary Board, Nihal Fonseka and Dr. Dushni Weerakoon, appointed during the previous regime, resigned with effect from 31 May.

Industrialist-cum exporter - Samantha Kumarasinghe is the chairman of Nature’s Beauty Creations Ltd. and Multichemi International Ltd.

Meanwhile, Dr. Ranee Jayamaha was a former Central Bank Deputy Governor and a former chairperson of the Hatton National Bank PLC.