May 27, 2020

Landslide warnings issued for 7 districts ; rainfall to increase

The National Building Research Organization has issued landslide warnings in seven districts.

The landslide warnings were issued in the Galle, Matara, Ratnapura, Kalutara, Kegalle, Kandy and Nuwara Eliya Districts.

The warnings are in effect from 8am today till 8am tomorrow.

Meanwhile, the Department of Meteorology says very heavy falls above 200mm are expected at some places particularly in the Southern, Western, Sabaragamuwa and Central provinces.

The Met. Department said due to the low level atmospheric disturbance in the vicinity of Sri Lanka, prevailing showery condition is expected to enhance over the island during the next few days.