Nov 30, 2019

Minor parties grab UNP power! Featured

With the UNP losing the southern vote base considerably, the minor parties within the UNP have grabbed internal power of the party, according to internal sources.

Accordingly, the Tamil Progressive Front and Muslim Congress are having an impact on the party’s decisions.

With the UNP losing its Southern votes, UNP Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe has been giving leadership to the group and attempting to win back the Buddhist votes that was lost.  

However, these attempts have been severely criticised by the Tamil Progressive Front Leader Mano Ganesan and Muslim Congress Leader Rauff Hakeem.

Therefore, the UNP leadership had notified these parties that if they are unable to comply with the UNP policies, they should contest the upcoming general elections on their own.

As a result, these two parties have now commenced a drive to bring Sajith Premadasa to the post of Opposition Leadership. Premadasa had taken a decision to step down from politics after losing the recent presidential election.

However, Sajith Premadasa is of the stand that if he is to get back into politics, he wants the party leadership and Opposition leadership, which these two parties have turned to their advantage.

These parties are said to be planning to contest the general election under the UNP and obtain a significant number of seats and then switch over to support the government, a group of senior UNP MPs allege.

These MPs have told Wickremesinghe of the conduct of Ganesan and Hakeem in the past and have requested that he remain as party leader.

Most number of district support still with Ranil

A senior UNP-MP told Sri Lanka Mirror that under the current circumstances, there are gangs forming within the UNP.

However, he said that the MP’s who can gain the majority votes district-wise are still with Ranil Wickremesinghe.

For example, P. Harrison from the Anuradhapura District, Lakshman Kiriella from Kandy, Navin Dissanayake from Nuwara Eliya nand Akila Viraj Kariyawasam from Kurunegala still have majority votes basses in their respective districts.

Ganesan and Hakeem’s conduct

In 2010 Mano Ganesan contested from Kandy and his brother contested from Colombo.

At that point the Tamil Progressive Front had asked the UNP for one seat and his younger brother was nominated.

However, Mano Ganesan was unable to secure a seat from the Kandy District at that time and his brother Prabha Ganesan was elected to parliament representing the UNP, but he later joined Mahinda Rajapaksa.

At that point Ranil Wickremesinghe did not grant the seat in parliament to that party as agreed he would have still joined Mahinda Rajapaksa. This was the notion at the time.

Rauff Hakeem too contested under the UNP and later joined Mahinda Rajapaksa.

Meanwhile, it is also stated that the Twitter message to the effect that Ranil Wickremesinghe was agreeable to hand over the opposition leadership to Sajith Premadasa, is also said to have been done by Mano Ganesan. So far Raniol Wickremesinghe has not said anything in this regard.