Feb 02, 2019

Lotus bud drops Maithri! Featured

Although a committee has been appointed under the leadership of MP Dallas Alahapperuma to formulate a report with regard to the forming of a coalition together with the member parties of the joint opposition, the Maithri led group is not included in this coalition, according to a JO member.

According to Dallas Alahapperuma, the Chairmanship, Secretary and Treasurer of this new alliance would be members of the Sri Lanka Podu Jana Peramuna (SLPP). He also noted that 51% of the representatives would be given to the SLPP. 

He also said that all member parties of the JO had already given their proposals with regard to the constitution of the new coalition, adding that the proposals that all member parties could agree upon would be adopted.

Meanwhile, Vasudeva Nanayakkara said that during the January 29th JO members meeting, the progress of the committee was discussed. He noted that the SLPP and all other parties from the JO would be included in the new coalition.

Arumugam Thondaman’s Ceylon Workers Congress and Douglas Devananda’s EPDP would also be included in this new coalition.

He further noted that the activities of this committee would be concluded within the next two weeks and the new coalition would be launched within the next few weeks.

Talks with the SLFP for later:

Alahapperuma said that after the new coalition is formed they would hold discussions with the SLFP.

He further noted that this new coalition was planned prior to October 26, 2018 and all the recommendations were made prior to that date.

Alahapperuma added that discussions would be held on whether the SLFP would also be added to the new coalition or whether they would sign a different agreement with the SLFP.