Feb 01, 2019

Questions over police anti-narcotic awards Featured

Questions have been raised over the manner in which police personnel have been chosen for felicitation for their contributions to anti-narcotic efforts.

It is alleged those who had not been engaged in drug raids had been awarded, and also that the recipients include those who are loyal to IGP Pujith Jayasundara.

A committee tasked with recommending the recipients had submitted a list of 291 personnel to the police chief.

However, IGP Jayasundara had ignored the recommendations and appointed another committee that sent him a list of 1,145 personnel.

It was only with the intervention of president Maithripala Sirisena that senior DIG M.R. Latiff, PNB’s DIG Sajiva Medawatte and DIG Kamal Silva, who had led most raids, were included in the list of recipients.

Also, the president has dropped the name of IGP Jayasundara from the list.