Nov 23, 2018

UPFA walks out of chamber!

Parliamentarians of government members led by the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) have walked out of Parliament.

UPFA MP and Housing Minister Wimal Weerawansa said that the UPFA has decided to walk out of Parliament as they cannot accept Speaker Karu Jayasuriya’s actions.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya today (23) proposed to appoint 12 members to the Parliament Select Committee (PSC) which included five members of the UPFA and United National Front (UPF) each as well as one member each from the Tamil National Alliance (TNA) and the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP).

As a result the UPFA attended the beginning of the Parliament session today and then staged a walkout.