Nov 22, 2018

UNF says will nominate nine members to the PSC Featured

The United National Front will nominate nine members to the parliamentary select committee, if the Maithri-Mahinda side can name seven members, a UNF MP told Sri Lanka Mirror.

The PSC has a total of 12 members.

UPFA MP Dinesh Gunawardena says they should have seven members as the governing side, and has informed the speaker that they would be S.B. Dissanayake, Nimal Sirispala de Silva, Mahinda Samarasinghe, Dinesh Gunawardena, Wimal Weerawansa, Thilanga Sumathipala and Udaya Gammanpila.

UNP MP Mano Ganeshan has told BBC Sinhala Service that the UPFA would not be allowed to given the majority of the PSC membership.

According to him, the UPFA cannot have more than five members.

The remaining seven members should be distributed among the UNP, ITAK and the JVP, he said.

JVP’s Anura Kumara Dissanayake says it is unreasonable to grant a majority positions in the PSC to a side without a House majority.

As per the Hansard report on the no-confidence motion adopted on November 14, there is no government, prime minister of cabinet, he said.

PHOTO 2018 11 21 12 17 04

PHOTO 2018 11 21 12 17 04 2

PHOTO 2018 11 21 12 17 15

In light of that, the PSC’s membership should be in accordance with the composition of the parties.

Meanwhile, the speaker’s media unit says a final decision with regard to the PSC would be taken tomorrow before House sessions commence.