Nov 14, 2018

No-faith motion against MR passed - UNP Featured

United National Party (UNP) MPs state that the No-Confidence Motion against PM Mahinda Rajapaksa was passed in Parliament with a majority today (14).

Speaking to journalists outside the chambers, UNP MP Lakshman Kiriella had said that while the UPFA protested against the motion and caused disruption, the motion was passed by a show of hands, which reflected that Mr Rajapaksa did not command the confidence of the majority of members in the House.

In a Tweet UNP MP Harsha de Silva too has echoed the move.



However, UPFA MPs have disputed this claim, stating that no vote was taken.