Nov 03, 2018

By prorogation of parliament, 12 committees annulled! Featured

With the decision taken by the President to prorogue parliament, 12 of the parliament committees would be annulled, according to parliament sources.

Previously, when the President suspended the first session of the eighth parliament too, 12 of the parliament committees were annulled.

The functioning of 12 parliament committees including the Committee on Public Accounts, Committee on Public Enterprises, Committee of Public Petitions, House Committee, Committee on Privileges and Finance Committee had ended. However, although the parliament sessions have ended, the Aperture Monitoring Committees,Committee on High Posts and Select Committees will continue to function under new standing orders provisions, according to parliamentary sources.

Accordingly, once parliament is reconvened, these committees would recommence and their heads and members would be appointed.